Employee Spotlight: Derek Queen

Employee Spotlight (Derek Queen)Derek is a senior majoring in Graphic Design at Oakland University. He is one of the Graphic Design Interns at the Recreation Center and has been working here since April of 2017.

 

Why did you want to work at the Rec?

I wanted to expand my graphic design experience and saw that the Rec would be a great opportunity to branch out to a dept. on campus I was not very familiar with.

 

What is your favorite part about working here?

The people are very friendly and the facility is nice.

 

What are your favorite Rec activities? (IM sports, GroupX, Street Teams, RLC, etc.)

I don’t personally participate in anything at the Rec, but the club sports sound really fun.

 

When you’re not at the Rec, what are some things you like to do?

I do a lot of design work. I have a design job elsewhere on campus and a design internship off campus. In my free time I love watching movies and reading comic books!

 

What fuels your shift? (music, food, people, etc.)

Music and food for life!

 

What are you looking forward to?

Sleeping. Always.

 

What are your plans for the future?

One day I think my boyfriend and I will move to Florida.

 

Name your top 3 workout songs

  1. “Jackrabbit” by San Fermin
  2. “Too Much Time Together” by San Cisco
  3. “Send Them Off!” by Bastille

 

What is your best tip for health and wellness?

I’m no expert since I spend a lot of my work sitting in front of a computer but… Regularly go on walks/ bike rides when you’re not doing anything at home.

 

Fun Fact:

I am an avid Scooby-Doo memorabilia collector. I have around 1,000 unique Scooby-Doo items including books, movies, and more!

Leave a Reply

