Employee Spotlight: Kristen Davis

EmployeeSpotlight(Kristen).jpgIn September of 2016, Kristen Davis started working at the Rec center. She is a senior majoring in Journalism and minoring in Communications. She is a Marketing Intern.

 

Why did you want to work at the Rec?

Working at the Rec wasn’t something I had really planned to do, but I wanted to get another internship and I knew that they offered some in marketing, so I figured I’d apply and try for it. It also helped that it was a job on campus, and since I live here, it’s very convenient. I’m here usually five or six days a week anyway to workout, so I was already pretty familiar with the department and building, which helped too.

 

What is your favorite part about working at the Rec?

My favorite part about working here is that the work I do is all centered around health and wellness, which is something I’ve always been passionate about. I’ve also never had any job in marketing, so it’s fun learning new things and expanding my portfolio.

 

What are your favorite Rec activities?

I enjoy the weight room, the aquatic center and IM sports.

 

When you’re not at the Rec, what are some things you like to do?

When I’m not at the Rec working, I like to come here to work out. I also work in the athletic department on campus as a student assistant, and I like going to any sporting event on campus too, even if I don’t have to work it. I like hanging out with my friends and meeting new people too.

 

What are you looking forward to?

I’m looking forward to making memories my senior year, basketball season and graduating in April!

 

What are your plans for the future?

I plan on returning to Oakland for two years of graduate school for communications after I get my undergraduate degree in April 2017. After that, I want to get a job in the sports media field, preferably in sports communications at either a university or for a professional sports team.

 

What fuels your shift?

Music is definitely what gets me through my shift. I have my headphones in basically the entire time because music helps me focus and block out background noise that may distract me.

 

What is your best tip for health and wellness?

My best tip for health and wellness is to find a routine that works for you and understand that balance and rest are necessary for your body. I struggled through my first few years at college with overdoing it in the gym and pushing my body too hard. I have bad knees, plantar fasciitis in both feet and a fused spine, and the things I was doing in the gym were only making my knees, feet and back worse. It was hard to stray away from the exercises I’ve done for so long because when I didn’t do my regular routine, I felt down on myself and like I wasn’t pushing myself hard enough. I think I’ve finally come to terms with what I can and cannot do because I’ve realized that you have to care for your body and sometimes, pushing yourself too hard is counter-productive. I’m learning to embrace the things that don’t hurt me, even though they aren’t as intense as what I’m used to, and instead of denying it, I’m learning to adapt to my circumstances. I believe it’s important for everyone to do this.

 

Fun Fact:

I spent the summer in Los Angeles interning with USA TODAY Sports. I lived there for three months on my own right in Westwood (a few miles from Santa Monica and the coast) and it was an amazing experience that helped me grow immensely as a person.

 

 

Leave a Reply

