Employee Spotlight: Colin Haggerty

EmployeeSpotlight(Colin).jpg

In August of 2014, Colin started working at the Rec center. He is a junior majoring in Human Resource Development. He is a program assistant, student development and building manager.

 

Why did you want to work at the Rec?

I was a referee first, and I wanted to do that because I love sports. That turned into loving the rec center and becoming a PA and Building Manager.

 

What is your favorite part about working at the Rec?

I feel like I can help make someone’s day every day and the people I work with are some of the best people at Oakland.

 

What are your favorite Rec activities?

Intramural Sports are my favorite. I try to play every sport every year.

 

When you’re not at the Rec, what are some things you like to do?

I love listening to and playing music! Guitar is my favorite, but I fool around with any instrument I can get my hands on.

 

What are you looking forward too?

Networking for Graduate Assistantships this year at NIRSA and Lead On.

 

What are your plans for the future?

I want to get my masters degree in Student Affairs or Recreation and Well Being and continue working with other students for the rest of my life.

 

What fuels your shift?

People, for sure. I love being able to help people and make their time at the rec a good experience.

 

Name your top 3 workout songs

Lions Teeth – The Mountain Goats Colorshow – The Avett Brothers Skeleton – The Front Bottoms

 

What is your best tip for health and wellness?

Stop drinking pop, it worked like a charm for me.

 

Fun Fact:

Pizza is my favorite thing in the world. (Besides music)

Leave a Reply

