Employee Spotlight: Rocky Hampel

EmployeeSpotlightRocky.jpg

In September of 2016, Rocky Hampel started working at the Rec center. He is a senior majoring in Biology. He is a Wellness Ambassador.

 

Why did you want to work at the Rec?

I wanted to help educate my peers on healthy lifestyle choices.

 

What is your favorite part about working at the Rec?

The ability to work on projects and presentations that I’m passionate about is something that I can’t get at just a regular part time job. The opportunity is endless.

 

What are your favorite Rec activities?

I really enjoy the power yoga GroupX course, and IM sports. My go to IM is definitely soccer.

 

When you’re not at the Rec, what are some things you like to do?

When I’m not at work you can find me in the Formula SAE office or at my fraternity house watching football with my brothers.

 

What are you looking forward to?

I’m looking forward to all the programming that the Wellness Ambassadors are doing this year. We have so many topics to cover and I can’t wait to share them.

 

What are your plans for the future?

In the future I’m looking forward to continuing my education while working with others to create a better lifestyle for myself and those around me. Whether thats through public health, environmental health and safety, or through medicine I know it will be worth it.

 

What fuels your shift?

I really enjoy listening to Chance the Rapper to get through a shift.

 

Name your top 3 workout songs

Bodies – Drowning Pool, Thunderstruck – AC/DC, Pursuit of Happiness (Extended Steve Aoki Version) – Kid Cudi, MGMT, Ratatat

 

What is your best tip for health and wellness?

Making sure that you have a well balanced schedule that allows for rest is how I make it through my day to day grind.

 

Fun Fact:

I am certified by Homeland Security in Event Security Planning.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

