Employee Spotlight: Becky Van Sloten

Back in August of 2015, Becky began working for the Rec. She is a junior majoring in nursing and is an Intramural Sports Supervisor!

Why did you want to work at the Rec?

The Rec is a fun environment that is a work out, stress relief, social life, and bundle of joy all in one. I saw all the friendships within the coworkers and wanted to be part of it with my best friend – shoutout to Erin.

How did you choose your major?

I chose nursing so that I could help the people that are normally set aside by society, and to build relationships with my patients that will impact them for a lifetime. I chose nursing when I was in Africa four years ago, and never regretted it since…well maybe once haha, but I love nursing!

What is your favorite part about working at the REC?

I love the people. You get paid to have fun. Literally the best job ever.

What transferrable skills have you acquired that will help you in the future?

I’ve learned how to take control of situations, and find the balance between a supervisor and a friend.

What are your favorite Rec activities?

Volleyball, basketball, ultimate Frisbee, and if kickboxing doesn’t kill me, it can be on the list too.

When you’re not at the Rec, what are some things you like to do?

I’m in nursing school, so I study. But I also enjoy spending quality laughing sessions with my friends, leading bible studies, and continually learning new things.

What are you looking forward to?

In my future, I think that if I can take a sad situation for someone, and bring joy will put a smile on his or her face, then that is what I will look forward to every day of my career.

What are your plans for the future?

I would find great joy working with children that have cancer along with their families, or becoming a medical missionary.

Fun Fact:

I love to knit.

Leave a Reply

