Employee Spotlight: Autumn Cleverly

Autumn Cleverly has dedicated 7 years of her college career at the Rec Center!  Autumn is the Aquatics Graduate Program Assistant, a Fitness Intern and one of our talented GroupX instructors!  While forming an appreciation for campus recreation after being hired in February of 2010, she is very fortunate to have found her passion at such an early age!  She is a graduate student majoring in Exercise Science, gaining valuable and practical experience at the Rec!

Why did you want to work at the Rec?

I was looking for a fun job that was on campus when I was a freshman.  As an athlete, I was looking for a place that would be flexible around practices.  The Aquatics center was the first to contact me, so I went out and got my certification.

How did you choose your major?

I have a B.S. in biology, but during my sophomore year I realized that I did not want to go into the medical field, but rather work with Athletes.  I started my minor and knew right away that studying exercise is where my heart is! I love being able to teach someone something new!12107095_10153704309757287_4443226545967094582_n

What is your favorite part about working here?

I love my lifeguarding staff(most of the time) 😉  There is a great sense of teamwork within the guards and they make it a fun place to work!  I have met some of my best friends because they worked here!

What transferable skills have you acquired that will help you in the future?

Well, I want to go into campus recreation, so this is the perfect experience for me!  Managing and filling schedules and training guards allows me to really think outside the box. Sometimes things just don’t work the way you want them to. 

What are your favorite Rec activities?

I love doing our GroupX classes!!!  You can’t beat our yoga teachers and class prices!!

When you’re not at the Rec, what are some things you like to do?

I love to travel! This summer I was able to spend 2 weeks in France with my family! It was everything I could have ever dreamed of and more! I had visited my friends who life in the South of France and the food was wonderful! I did not have a bad meal the entire trip!

What are you looking forward to?

I am really looking forward to graduating with my Master’s degree in April. I am ready to be done with school and find a real job!  Also, I am excited to go to NIRSA this year, especially since it’s in Orlando.

What are your plans for the future?

After graduation, I plan to hopefully find a job in the midwest in campus recreation!

Fun Fact: I can correctly identify all the jelly belly flavors just by looking at them!

 

Leave a Reply

