Employee Spotlight: Emma Spak

Emma Spak has been working at the Rec since October 2012.  She has a very active role here at the Rec and definitely manages her time well.  She is one of our lovely Building Managers, as well as, working in Member Services.  She is also the President of the student organization, Recreation Leadership Council (RLC), hosting meetings and promoting professional development and networking events. Her major is English Secondary Education and is a senior this year!!

Why did you want to work at the Rec?

I wanted to work at the Rec because I liked the idea of working in a place where people come to have fun!  Also, my friend from high school worked here and I knew I would enjoy it!

How did you choose your major?

I love to read and have always wanted to be a teacher.  I’ve never changed my mind about wanting to teach.

What is your favorite part about working here?10422106_864180296938170_443416410262316319_n

I love that I have become friends with everyone that works here.  Every single time I come in to the Rec I know someone and am greeted by a friendly face.  While I have developed profoundly as an employee, the friendly environment is always something that I will love.

What transferable skills have you acquired that will help you in the future?

I have improved my communication skills, learned how to network with professional staff, become more of a leader within the department and have also become much more organized.  I attribute much of this growth to working for the Department of Campus Recreation. 

What are your favorite Rec activities?

I am President of RLC, the Marketing Street Team intern and love to take GroupX classes… overall, I enjoy a lot of activities at the Rec.

When you’re not at the Rec, what are some things you like to do?

I like to read, hang out with my best friends and watch Gilmore Girls.

What are you looking forward to?

I am looking forward to going to Europe after I graduate.

What are your plans for the future?

I plan to graduate and find a job teaching high school English.  In my spare time, I hope to continue to travel as much as I can. 

Fun Fact: I am obsessed with Peanut Butter and have watched every season of Gilmore Girls more than 10 times. 

Leave a Reply

