Employee Spotlight: Mackenzie DeSandre

Mackenzie is one of our Lifeguards at the Rec Center.  She is a Junior this year and has been working at the Rec since August of 2014.  Always having an interest in the human body and how it works, it seems only fitting that her major would be Health Science.

Why did you want to work at the Rec?

I wanted the experience of working at a gym with the added bonus of meeting people from OU. 

What is your favorite part about working here?

The people, definitely.  The aquatics staff has some of the best people I’ve ever met.  They make work fun.

What transferable skills have you acquired that will help you in the future?

People skills… I’m much better about approaching strangers than I used to be. 336068_479123002102473_308954406_o

What are your favorite Rec activities? (IM sports, GroupX, Street Teams, RLC, etc.)

IM sports is a great part of the Rec activities.  It’s the perfect combination of competition and fun!

When you’re not at the Rec, what are some things you like to do?

I love to read.  I’d say most of my time is put towards that. 

What are you looking forward to?

In regards to Rec activities, I think some of the GroupX classes look really awesome this year.  In regards to Aquatics, I’m looking forward to some of the home swim meets we will be hosting. In regards to my general life, I’m looking forward to finishing Physics forever!

What are your plans for the future?

I’d love to work with athletes.  I want to come up with the meal plans for people in order to improve their day to day life.  I’m not set on one career yet, I still have the dream of doing it all!

Fun Fact: I did a two day hike in Yosemite this summer and also walked the Golden Gate Bridge! 

Leave a Reply

