Employee Spotlight: Tawnee Helmkay

Tawnee is a Junior and has been working at the Rec since April, 2014.  She keeps herself busy as a Member Services Attendant, as well as a Fitness Assistant.  She is majoring in Health Sciences with a concentration in pre-health.

Why did you choose your major?

I knew I wanted to go into the medical field and I wanted to help people be healthy.  I would like to eventually be a PA and figured this would be a good place to start!1375326_10202158845840714_291153934_n

What is your favorite part about working here?

The people.  I love all the people here.

What transferable skills have you acquired that will help you in your future?

Communication skills.  Being able to communicate with people from different backgrounds whether they are students or alumni.  You definitely have to approach each differently.

What are you favorite Rec activities?

Well, I am excited to start on the Street Team because I just got accepted!

When you’re not at the Rec, what are some things you like to do?

I like to travel, eat fried pickles, and hang with my doggie.  I have a Yorkipoo.  His name is Vincenzo.

How do you stay active and healthy?

I try to workout 6 days a week and I prep my meals. They’re pretty standard.  I pack chicken, sweet potatoes, ground turkey and broccoli.

What are you looking forward to?

Graduating!! I am going to travel afterwards for a little while, heading to Europe.  I’ll be visiting Greece, Prague, and Italy.

Fun Fact: I lived in France for 2 years from the ages of 10 and 11. 

Leave a Reply

