Employee Spotlight: Hallie Burns

Hallie Burns is a Senior and has been working at the Rec since April, 2015.  Majoring in Nutrition and Exercise Science, the Rec has proven to be a perfect fit for her.  She is currently a member services attendant and the loves the sense of community and teamwork the Rec embodies.

Why did you want to work at the Rec?

I’m a nutrition and Exercise Science major and it seemed like a really fun place to work.

Why did you choose your major?

It’s something I feel is so interesting.  I really want to help people and everyone likes food so why not start there?! Plus I always wished I had more knowledge of nutrition as a child, so it’s really fun for me to learn more about what I should put in my body to make me the healthiest I can be.

What is your favorite part about working here?1896781_10202763909526235_361978041_n

Meeting a ton of people.  Especially getting close to the fall semester, you meet a new person everyday.  It’s super fun here and I get to hang out with Jenny!

What transferrable skills have you acquired that will help you in your future?

Costumer service skills, leadership skills, and being able to deal with situations and to adapt and work with a variety of personalities.

What are your favorite Rec activities? 

I like GroupX and IM Sports.  I mainly participated in yoga classes and played co-ed Soccer which was really fun.

When your not at the Rec, what are some things you like to do? 

I like to sleep and go out to eat with my friends.  I also attempt to workout. 

How do you stay active and healthy?

I run with my mom and try to workout at least 3 times a week.  I watch what I eat too.  I eat a lot of fruits and vegetables. 

What are you looking forward to?

Meeting the new staff for the Fall and having a grand ‘ole semester. 

Fun Fact: I’m a triplet. 

Leave a Reply

