Employee Spotlight: Mike Binge

Mike Binge has been working at the Rec as a Member Services attendant since the Fall of 2014.  He is a Junior here at OU and is majoring in History with a focus in secondary education.

Why did you want to work at the Rec?

I enjoy working out and I love to stay active.  I also have played sports all my life and I felt this would be the perfect place for me.

Why did you choose your major?

I have always wanted to be a teacher and had this ongoing fascination with history.

What is your favorite part about working here?

Being able to interact with many different types of people. 

What transferable skills have you acquired that will help you in your future?

I feel that being able to help people and make them feel satisfied with their OU experience will allow me to transfer that over to teaching in providing a satisfactory learning experience.

What are your favorite Rec activities?

IM sports.  I especially enjoy playing football with my fraternity brothers.

When you’re not at the Rec, what are some things you like to do?

I like spending time with my fraternity.  Also, playing guitar and heading up north to hunt, fish and ride quads!

How do you stay active and healthy?

I workout with my friends as well as playing sports; specifically baseball, football and golf. 

What are you looking forward to?

Taking a few strokes off my golf game. 

What are your plans for the future?

Becoming a teacher and moving on to principle or Athletic Director. 

Fun Fact: 

I broke my nose three times. 

Leave a Reply

