Employee Spotlight: Taylor James

Taylor James is a Senior at OU majoring in Health Sciences with a concentration in pre professional.  She is a Fitness Assistant here at the Rec and has been working here since January of 2015.

Why did you want to work at the Rec?

I heard about working at the Rec through Emma Charen.  She said that it was an amazing environment.. So I applied!

Why did you choose your major?

I had major surgery when I was in sixth grade and that had really inspired me to work in the medical field.

What is your favorite part about working here?

I love the people here.  We’re like a family and it makes the job a lot easier to do.

What transferable skills have you acquired that will help you in your future?es taylorjames

I have become a lot more confident and personable.

What are your favorite Rec activities?

I love going to yoga and to the GroupX classes.  I’ve attended the Zumba and Kickboxing classes.

When you’re not at the Rec, what are some things you like to do?

I love being outside, reading and playing pool.

How do you stay active and healthy?

I try to exercise 2-3 times a week and go to yoga as much as I can.  Also, eat healthy.

What are you looking forward to?

Volunteering at hospitals and getting more hands-on experience relating to my major.

What are your plans for the future?

I want to move out of state and gather experience in my field.  I really would like to travel to Europe.

Fun Fact:

I danced Ballet for 9 years.  

Leave a Reply

