Employee Spotlight: Emma Charen

Emma Charen is a Senior at OU, majoring in Graphic Design.  She has been working at the Rec since December of 2013 in Member Services and we our fortunate enough to also have Emma as our own graphic designer here in the Rec’s Marketing office.

Why did you want to work at the Rec?

I wanted a job that was on campus and I heard this was a great place to work.

Why did you choose your major?

I was very interested in art in high school and graphic design seemed like a perfect fit for me.  It is something that I am very passionate about. 

What is your favorite part about working here?

I love the atmosphere.  Everyone here is so welcoming and it makes my day when I get here.

What transferable skills have you acquired that will help you in your future?

I improved on my people skills and how to work with a client.  I also have learned how to take criticism. 

What are your favorite Rec activities? 

I really like working with the street team.

When you’re not at the Rec, what are some things you like to do?

I like to draw, play my guitar and garden.

How do you stay active and healthy?

I take my dog for a walk and eat very consciously.  I try to eat a lot of salads, and fruit…. but there’s always some cheezit snacking involved.

What are you looking forward to?

I’m going to California in two weeks for a family vacation.

Fun Fact:

I have extra bones in my feet.

 

Leave a Reply

