Employee Spotlight: Jesse Spaine

11182170_1081634938517600_1350139816320874558_n
Jesse Spaine, Employee of the Year for Building Managers Pictured with: Marie VanBuskirk, Professional Development Coordinator Employee Awards Banquet; April, 2015

Jesse Spaine is a Senior at OU and is the Building Manager here at the Rec.  He started working at the Rec in September 2014 and majored in Business Marketing. Jesse is an exemplary employee and was awarded with Employee of the Year for Building Managers this past April.

Why did you choose your major?

I like to be competitive.  When you work in business, everyday is competition and that’s what drives business and I like to be apart of it.

What is your favorite part about working here?

The people.  All the employees.  The Rec has a really strong community… They’re pretty cool.

What transferable skills have you acquired that will help you in the future?

Public Speaking.  I feel like I speak publicly everyday here; and decision making.

What are your favorite Rec activities?

IM Volleyball.

When you’re not at the Rec, what are some things you like to do?

Going out with friends. ..I’m always going out. I like playing guitar and going fishing.

How do you stay active and healthy?

I swim once or twice a week at least and drink an excess amount of water. 

What are you looking forward to?

Once graduation is all said and done, I am looking forward to landing a starting position in my field and just experience new things. 

Fun Fact:

I’m color blind.  I only see in red scale.

What are your plans for the future?

I still want to work in metro-Detroit and be a contributor to the comeback of the once great cities like Pontiac and Detroit.

 

Leave a Reply

