Group Ex Instructor: Karen Maynard

IMG_0922[4]
What group ex classes do you teach? Days / times?
Presently I teach Mondays 4:15-5:15– Zumba 5:30-6:30 Step Interval and Wednesday 5:30-6:30 Step Fusion.
 
How long have you been teaching group ex classes at the Rec?
I think around 12 years.
 
What did you or are you studying in school? Do you have any additional certifications?  
I have my undergraduate degree in Special Education and my Masters Degree in Early Childhood Special Education. I retired from teaching special education 3 years ago and I am now teach group fitness full time!!   I have my Group Fitness Certification through ACE.  I also am certified in aquatics (AEA) and Yogafit 1 and 2.  I am licensed to teach Zumba, Zumba Gold, Aqua Zumba and Zumba Step.
 
Outside of teaching group ex classes, what do you like to do to stay fit?
I enjoy downhill and cross country skiing, playing golf, swimming, biking and walking.
 
What do you like about teaching group ex classes?
It is a wonderful opportunity to meet new people and help them meet their fitness goals.  I enjoy teaching a variety of formats where I can challenge and encourage participants to be motivated to attend group fitness classes  and have fun at the same time!
 
Do you have any other hobbies?
I volunteer at the Rochester Area Neighborhood House, I am a member of the Rochester Junior Woman”s Club with many activities, and I am helping my niece take care of her new triplets!!!  I also teach at resorts in the winter time through FitnessProTravel.  Everyone should try it!!  It is great fun!

Do you have a favorite motivational / fitness quote?
Do your very best!
 
Why should people attend your classes? 
I offer an inviting atmosphere in my classes where any participant can attend and not feel intimidated.  I offer classes at various levels and always try to come up with something new.  I also have great music!!  
 
Any additional thoughts?
 I enjoy teaching at the Rec with the variety of participants that attend.  I hope everyone takes the time to try our fantastic group fitness classes!
Leave a Reply

