Spotlight: Fitness & Wellness GA Erin Davidson

553541_10150964885247201_1585954226_n 

Where did you do your undergrad? What did you study? 

I went to Grand Valley State University and got my B.S. in Health Professions.

 

What are you getting your Master’s in?

I am getting my Master’s in Exercise Science.

 

What do you do as the Fitness & Wellness Graduate Assistant? 

My primary role is to help manage the group exercise instructor staff. Some of my responsibilities include: making the group exercise schedule each semester, hiring new staff, coordinating fitness/wellness events around campus, teaching group exercise classes, and I also work on marketing materials for campus recreation.

 

Why did you want to work at the Rec?

I first started working in campus recreation as a freshman at Grand Valley State University and I fell in love with it. It is such a positive atmosphere to work in.  I enjoy planning, teaching, and being surrounded by people who are working to better themselves and others both physically and mentally.

1453389_546799532066061_1787802173_n

What is the most exciting aspect of your job?

I have freedom to be creative and work on projects that I think will help campus recreation grow. I also really enjoy teaching group exercise classes. It is rewarding to watch students achieve their goals and have fun while doing it.

 

When you were younger, what did you want to be when you grew up?

I wanted to be a singer/actress!

 

What are your plans for once you’re done with school?

I want to continue to work at a university within campus recreation in a coordinator or director position. I also hope to teach higher education.

 

Fun fact about yourself?

I love to travel! It is my goal to travel to every state in the US (I am getting close!).

1382039_10151648544927201_381724262_n

Leave a Reply

