Group Ex Instructor Spotlight: Megan Gougeon

Screen shot 2014-08-19 at 7.43.48 PM
What group exercise classes do you teach?
I teach yoga group ex classes on Wednesday at 5:30 and Thursday at 12:10.
How long have you been teaching group exercise classes at the Rec?
I have been teaching yoga classes at the rec center since my freshman year at Oakland, fall of 2011.
What are you studying in school? Do you have any certifications for teaching yoga?

I am studying elementary education at Oakland and just passed the Michigan Test for Teacher Certification.  I am also a registered yoga instructor through Yoga Alliance.

Outside of teaching group ex classes, what do you like todo to stay fit?

Outside of group exercise classes I practice Ashtanga yoga, I do CrossFit, and occasionally run.
What do you like about teaching group exercise classes?
There are so many things I love about teaching group ex yoga.  First of all, the students are dedicated and eager to learn.  I love getting to know the students through a mutual interest in yoga.  Second, the staff at the rec center is amazing! Everyone is so devoted to well being and overall wellness, so it is a very uplifting place to work.  And lastly, it is a privilege to be able to share a passion of mine with people of my school.
Any hobbies?
I don’t really have any hobbies, although I do love to read!
What have you done this summer?
This summer I have spent most of my time working.  I am fortunate enough to be a yoga instructor at an all girl day camp for most of the summer, which allows me to bring my experience with yoga into my experiences with elementary education.  I also teach at many studios and the rec center over the summer.  When I’m not teaching or working with children I’m probably reading or doing yoga.
Excited for group ex classes to start? Any additional thoughts?
I’m very excited for group ex classes to start! It is always interesting to see what each new semester brings-hopefully some devoted yoga students!
For the full group exercise schedule, click here
Leave a Reply

