Employee Spotlight: Becca Schmitter

     rebeccaschmitter_model_081811_0589

Social Media / Blogging Intern

Major: Communication with a minor in Public Relations

 

Favorite part about working at the Rec? 

“I really enjoy the positive, upbeat environment. Everyone is so nice! I also really love that I’m able to combine my knowledge of social media with my love for health/wellness.”

 

 Why did you choose the Rec Center for your internship?

“I’m graduating this December. I needed one more internship for school credit. While on the hunt for my internship, I saw that the Rec was looking for a social media intern. It couldn’t have been a more perfect fit. At my interview, I knew this was the place for me! Like I said before, I love social media and health/wellness, so it just made sense.”

What do you want to do when you graduate? 

“After graduation, I hope to continue working with social media and marketing. Ideally, I’ll end up working at a concert venue, agency, or label. But who knows? I’m also looking at different advertising agencies.”

 

 Favorite Rec activities? 

“Group exercise classes are awesome. They give you a chance to exercise with like-minded people, which I think is really important. I also love listening to a great playlist and walking around the indoor track..”

 

What did you want to be when you were 10 years old? 

“I wanted to work at Teen Vogue. Basically, I wanted to be a brunette Lauren Conrad.”

  

What are you most looking forward to this summer?

“Well summer is over halfway done, which is crazy. I just spent almost two weeks with my boyfriend (He lives in Manitoba), so that was great! I just love summer. Warm weather, time with family and friends, and everyone just seems so much happier!

Leave a Reply

