Employee Spotlight: Tiffany Slabbekoorn

1079447_10201804012931577_361769620_n
Intramural Sports Graduate Assistant
Where did you do your undergrad? What is your BA in? What are you studying to get your Master’s in?
“I did my undergrad here at OU! I graduated with my Bachelor of Science in Accounting in April of this year. I will be getting my Master of Accounting from the School of Business Administration, and am planning on graduating during the summer of 2015.”
 
What will you be doing as the new Intramural Graduate Assistant?
“Essentially, I will be collaborating with Dan Bettmann and Sarah DiStefano (Club Sports GA)  in order to prepare and evaluate the intramural officials and supervisors, as well as help plan for all of our awesome intramural sports and events. However, since this position is in its first year, most things are not set in stone, so we will see where the year takes me!”
Why did you want to work at the Rec Center?
“I started working at the Rec Center the second semester of my first year at OU. I wanted to get more involved on campus and I really liked sports, so I applied to be an intramural official. Thankfully, I got the job!”
 
What is the most exciting aspect of your new position as the IM Graduate Assistant?
“I am most excited about getting to return the Rec Center and work with an absolutely fantastic staff for another year. The work that we do here is definitely rewarding, but the people I get to surround myself with on a day to day basis make this job more fulfilling than I could have ever asked for.”
 
When you were younger, what did you want to be when you grew up?
“When I was younger I wanted to be an elementary school teacher or an interior designer.”
 
What are your plans once you’re done with school?

“While I am finishing up school I am going to be studying for the Certified Public Accountant exam and plan on taking all four parts by the end of the summer. Then, I will be starting full time in the assurance field at Plante Moran, a public accounting firm, in August of 2015.”

 
Fun fact about yourself.
“I was the first person in my family to graduate with a college degree.”
Leave a Reply

