Member Spotlight: Derek MacDonald

February is Membership Appreciation Month at the Rec Center! To celebrate, we’re featuring some of our most dedicated patrons here on the blog. Thank you to all of our members, and good luck with your health and wellness goals!

686_10152242783105377_1912122756_n

Derek MacDonald

Sociology/Anthropology major with a concentration in Criminal Justice

How did you first hear about the Rec Center?

I knew about the Rec Center from my orientation before I moved on campus. I went to it a decent amount throughout my career at Oakland (I’m in my last semester) but it wasn’t until the summer of 2012 that I really started going on a daily basis. My friend, Billy, really got me into the whole fitness thing, which is what motivated me to keep up with maintaining my fitness level and overall health.

 What keeps you coming back?

The staff there is great. I’ve made a lot of friends at the Rec Center and always get caught up in conversation. I also enjoy the equipment and the condition of the facility. It’s always clean or being cleaned when I’m there, which makes the Rec Center more desirable to come back to.  

What are your favorite activities to do at the Rec?

The fitness room is my home away from home! I’m always in the weight room as it’s my stress relief. I also enjoy intramural sports. I play 5-on-5 basketball every year just because it’s fun to be able to play organized games against people you know and people around the same age. It’s a great way to meet people. 

What three words would you use to describe the Rec Center or your experience there?

Opportunity, challenging, life-changing 

What are your fitness goals this year?

My main goal this year is to really maintain my health with what I’m eating. I need to give myself a more balanced diet. With that being said, I still want to cut down some of my body fat percentage as well. 

What is the #1 tip you would give to a new Rec Center member to achieve his or her fitness goals or get involved in Campus Rec?

Don’t be intimidated by people who have been there longer than you. Everyone has to start somewhere and with hard work you can achieve any goals that you desire. Remember, you’re in there for YOU, not for anybody else. That being said, do whatever you need to do to make YOU happy.

Leave a Reply

