Member Spotlight: Jennifer Bonardelli

February is Membership Appreciation Month at the Rec Center! To celebrate, we’re featuring some of our most dedicated patrons here on the blog. Thank you to all of our members, and good luck with your health and wellness goals!

1234139_10201310092607558_987078104_n

Jennifer Bonardelli

Human Resources Development major with a minor in Training and Development

How did you first hear about the Rec Center?

I remember hearing about the Rec Center before I was even a student at Oakland. It was on my very first Saturday campus tour. I remember how cool I thought it was that I could workout for free. My very first experience at the Rec Center was in the beginning of my Freshman year when my new roommate and I would go workout.

What keeps you coming back?

For a long time I would come back for the Group Exercise classes, but now it is really hard to work them into my schedule. Now I come to the Rec Center and workout early on most mornings because I am trying to get fit and reach my goals. Sometimes I even need a push to go on those early mornings, that’s when my boyfriend, Derek, helps me out. Of course the staff is super nice, so that’s always a plus!

What are your favorite activities to do at the Rec?

I really enjoyed taking the Group Exercise classes when I had more time. When I can fit one into my schedule I still like to go. The instructors are very helpful in giving you that extra push to work harder, and they make you feel like you belong there. I haven’t played intramural sports since I was a freshman. Let’s be honest I’m not the best at sports, but I will gladly cheer on my friends!

What three words would you use to describe the Rec Center or your experience there?

I think the Rec Center is valuable. Where else can you get a free membership to a gym? The Rec is absolutely fun! It is a place to escape from your homework for a while, get out with your friends for a stress releasing workout or intramural game. Finally, I would say the Rec is motivational. It may take me a push or two to get myself to go workout, but once I am at the Rec Center I have no choice but to get a good workout in.

What are your fitness goals this year?

My fitness goals for 2014 sound cliché. I simply want to be healthier, become more fit, and lose weight. You know, “beach body ready.”

What is the #1 tip you would give to a new Rec Center member to achieve his or her fitness goals or get involved in Campus Rec?

A tip to achieving your goals would absolutely be to stick to it. If you want it to happen, you’re going to have to make it happen. Other people can motivate you, but what I’ve learned it you ultimately have to want it.

Leave a Reply

